i Cryptic Crossword 1941 Klingsor

April 28, 2017

Well I stared at an almost blank grid for quite a while. In my defence we have visitors for the weekend and they want to chat, can’t they see I’m busy!. I eventually completed this by adjourning to a smaller more private room. I found this quite difficult with quite a few (to me) obscurities in both the wordplay and the answers. In 9ac associating slander with mud seemed a bit tenuous , yes I know about dragging someone through the mud but it still didn’t quite work. 14ac was an unknown to me but I was pleased to be able to solve it from the cryptic part and then confirm with a dictionary.

As with lots of puzzles that seem difficult out the outset ,when the are eventually completed I wonder why I found them so difficult and realise that I really did enjoy it and the clues in the majority were excellent which leaves me to select just one hmm 26ac or?

COD   8d  Mount production of Rienzi, palpably not 2 (10)

The original blog where the blogger suggests that this is an ideal puzzle for beginners, which it probably is but only if they have access to his explanations that can be found here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/29/independent-8152-klingsor/

 

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1941 Klingsor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Definitely not one for beginners. 🙂

    In the time it took me to complete yesterday’s puzzle I had about 3 clues entered. Took a break to wash some dishes and then eventually started to make progress, with a finish time that was off the scale. 9ac described the parsing of more than one or two. But enjoyable? Yes.

  2. Cornick said

    I think Duncan, the blogger at Fifteensquared, must be so brilliant at solving that he’s forgotten what it is to be a beginner. This was the hardest puzzle of the week, so how can it be ideal for beginners? Strange!
    Anyhow, back to the real world I thought it was another cracking puzzle – Klingsor’s definitely one of my favourite four or five setters with the i.

  3. AndyT said

    I’ve probably mentioned this before, but it’s definitely not a good idea to start the Friday puzzle whilst the Goon Show is on. That’s my excuse for managing just half a dozen in the first half hour. I plead Paul Temple for the next, and finally polished it off once the wireless was silenced.

    Suitable for beginnners my foot. Parts of this weren’t far short of the latest Inquisitor in terms of convolution, if not obscurity … and I absolutely loved it. Ideal for a Friday when one has a little more time to spare. Bravo, Klingsor.

Comments are closed.

