i Cryptic Crossword 1940 Crosophile

April 27, 2017

An enjoyable, and not too difficult puzzle. Apparently this is a reprint from one of the Wednesdays Crosophile stood in for Dac, where it fits quite well. That said, I struggled a little in the SW corner. 18ac was new to me and, while I got the idea, I spent too long looking for something like OVER… 17d was also a little tricky.

Lots of enjoyable clues today, COD going to 5ac – ‘Church leaves 19c reformer to the Creator (6)’.

Apologies for the lateness today, my lunch break was hijacked by a trip to the supermarket for “just a couple of things.”

To November 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/28/independent-8151crosophile/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1940 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    I liked this better than last week’s, but feel a few of the definitions leave something to be desired. A mixed bag, but with a few choice morsels in it, like the COD and 14ac which read very nicely.

  2. sprouthater said

    Mostly enjoyable, found a few clues a bit hard going, 18a was new to me and like others on the other side thought “revel” would be “sing” at 17d which would be my pick for worst clue of the day.

  3. Cornick said

    Quite a few goodies in there.
    Interesting to see that the rather odd word ‘Treadled’ intersected with the Nina in the unches. Rather brilliantly hidden though, within a perfectly ordinary looking grid.
    First time I’ve seen 19c written lower case, which held me up a bit at the end.

  4. dtw42 said

    What everyone else said – mixed bag, mostly enjoyable, couple of iffy defs, 17 and 18 hardest and last in.

Comments are closed.

