i Cryptic Crossword 1939 Dac

April 26, 2017

A little more difficult than par for Dac, I thought. Perhaps it was the handful of unfamiliar answers, or maybe just mid-week blues, but I struggled throughout, though to be fair it was an enjoyable struggle as ever on a Wednesday. 1ac I was pleased to get from the wordplay, but on the other hand I got 19ac from definition and crossing letters, but had no idea what was supposed to be going on. Should have known 18ac, but managed not to, and took too long to spot 13d as a possibility for bracelet.

Lots of nice clues, with COD going to 25ac – ‘MORI employee’s camera attachment? (10)’.

To December 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/05/independent-8157-dac/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1939 Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    Much the same here. My turn to moan about names today, since 15ac has two equally acceptable solutions. Not desperately impressed by that.

    • dtw42 said

      Quite so – the SW corner was the last area to finish for me, almost solely because I’d put the wrong name in very quickly without even thinking of the alternative. I thought clues were supposed to lead to ONE answer that you know MUST be right once you’re found it!

      • jonofwales said

        Thankfully, I didn’t think of the alternative otherwise I would’ve ended up in an even bigger pickle than I already was in that corner of the grid.

  2. sprouthater said

    Enjoyed this a lot, 9a was new to me it was “Dick” in our house. 15a was my LOI so no confusion there and 19a had me baffled too.

  3. Cornick said

    Got lucky with Anita (arf) – the alternative never occurring to me. Oinks was my LOI, I liked that.
    Needed a dictionary for one or two but overall I thought this was terrific – I especially enjoy it when little joining words like ‘that’s’ in 13d or ‘was’ in 6ac turn out to be significant.

Comments are closed.

