i Cryptic Crossword 1938 Mordred

April 25, 2017

“Here it comes”, I thought, “this is what you get for wishing out loud for something tougher last Friday” – Mordred being one of my bêtes noires. The grid looked daunting too. As it turned out, this was a straightforward puzzle for the most part, with a couple of intransigent stragglers to tidy up at the end. I hardly need say that the theme sailed straight past me, but once you know it’s there, it’s rather impressive. There’s a heavy hint in 20d which with hindsight should have sounded the alarm. For an exhaustive explantion, please see the original Fifteensquared blog entry from November 2012.

There are some good clues of course, but nothing really leaps out. 1, 11 and 23 are all worthy of a nod, but 27ac raised a chuckle and is therefore my COD:

“Before Lorraine Pascale eventually cooked (7,2)”

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1938 Mordred”

  1. Cornick said

    I too was impressed by the theme, but with regard to the level of difficulty I felt a bit like the disgruntled bear in the Goldilocks story.

    We haven’t seen Mordred for quite a while – was he always like this?

    • AndyT said

      I have him mentally bracketed with setters like Monk, Anax and Tyrus – but the last Mordred I blogged was similarly gentle. Could it just be the ill-omened name?

  2. jonofwales said

    Theme, what theme? 🙂 If I’d spotted it, it might have helped in the NW corner where I came a right cropper, struggling on 7ac and 1d. The former is one of my pet hates – take one completely random name, and remove a letter from it to get another. When all you’ve got is ?A??, that doesn’t give you much to go on.

    That said, most of this was enjoyable, and not too difficult, apart from 3-4 right ones at the end.

  3. dtw42 said

    Exactly what JoW said.

    As opposed to yesterday’s, which you all found a gentle start to the week, and I couldn’t get into at all. Hey ho

  4. sprouthater said

    After solving 2, 4 and 8 down I did wonder if the setter was going through a troubling time at home but beyond that the theme, as usual, completely passed me by. Agree with Jon about 7a and think AndyT is probably right regarding the name. A mostly enjoyable puzzle.

Comments are closed.

