i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1930 by Phi

April 22, 2017

Saturday 15th April 2017

Just for a change Phi called himself Noz (think either Boz or ‘No Z’) when this puzzle appeared in the Independent back in 2012, the bicentenary of Dickens’ birth, but for the i we were given his more familiar nom de plume.

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that the only character I recognised was David Copperfield’s friend Steerforth. Alas I couldn’t conjure up any of the reverends, not even Reverend Stiggins, despite Pickwick Papers being one of the few Dickens novels I have read.

Coming though as it did after a week of easier end crosswords though, I relished the challenge of deciphering unknown names from a combination of wordplay, crossers and guesswork, finishing off with Reverend Chadband (Bleak House) and the SW corner.

And for completists, the other reverends to make an appearance were Crispinkle (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), Milvey (Our Mutual Friend) and Howler (Dombey & Son

COD: 9,29  Author lacked richness? That’s entirely wrong! (7,7)

And all the answers are here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1930 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    This was the last straw for me, as yet another clump of pages detached themselves from my crossword dictionary. Hence the bookbinding venture. Said dictionary contains a list of characters from Dickens, arranged alphabetically and by number of letters, so you’d think that would make tracking down the clergymen a doddle, but as it turned out half of them were missing and were therefore solved from the wordplay and confirmed by Google. The only one I knew off the top of my head was Milvey, so hardly a glorious performance on my part. Anyway, a more-than-usually diverting Saturday crossword.

  2. Rick King said

    Lost heart with this one if I’m honest, twigged the theme as the pointers were fairly clear but my knowledge of Dickens is slight and I’m not keen on googling my way through a puzzle. Clever work by phi, just not my cup of tea this week.

  3. jonofwales said

    I’ve got to say I wasn’t keen on this. Dickens characters have some pretty odd names anyway, and several of these didn’t appear in any lists I could find of his characters. Thankfully the non-thematic clues were straightforward enough it was possible to make headway, but I still found it a bit of a drag.

Comments are closed.

