i Cryptic Crossword 1935 Alchemi

April 21, 2017

I think this is the first puzzle from this setter to appear in The i, however from the comments on the other side he is quite prolific. I must say I found this a bit mundane, it started out well with 1a being a clever piece of wordplay and I enjoyed sorting out the component parts of 10a even though the answer was a bit obvious after that though the  whole thing seemed to lack any sort of challenge.

COD the aforementioned       1a  Renouncing what oaths can be?  (11)

For the original blog with very few comments but some nice pictures click Here

 

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1935 Alchemi”

  1. dtw42 said

    I found the cluing style enjoyably light and accessible, but grumbled over a few obscure answer words (6dn, 24dn, and 24ac were all new to me).

  2. Cornick said

    Alchemi started putting puzzles on Big Dave’s website over a year before this Indy debut.
    Most postings on BD’s site are about the Telegraph’s puzzles, and I can’t help wondering if this one maybe resembled a Telegraph back-pager more than the usual Indy style.
    Personally, after a couple of weeks of fairly gentle puzzles, I’m hoping for something a bit tougher to get my teeth into next week. Doesn’t mean I’ll be tackling the Inquisitor just yet though!

  3. jonofwales said

    This passed a little time sitting in the park, and was much what I was looking for, that is until I got to the name of the old communist leader which could, let’s face it, be anything even with all the checking letters. 🙂 The general style / difficulty didn’t feel that off for an IoS reprint, which are generally a little less taxing than some of the daily puzzles. I’d certainly welcome more.

  4. AndyT said

    I didn’t dislike it, but wasn’t altogether bowled over. It would be interesting to see some more by this setter, but like Cornick I’m hoping for something chewier to come up soon. Without wishing to tempt fate, I think I might be approaching my first Inquisitor success in a long, long time … we’ll see.

  5. Michael O'Neill said

    As a relative newcomer to the world of cryptic puzzling it was nice (and very satisfying) to be able to complete an i puzzle without the help of this illustrious website. So please don’t condemn Alchemi for being too easy. The odd full toss keeps up our morale!

Comments are closed.

