i Cryptic Crossword 1934 Crosophile

April 20, 2017

An enjoyable puzzle from Crosophile, with a bit of a sting in the tail, for me at least, struggling at the end on 26ac (MEAL was my random guess, until it became clear MEA didn’t mean much at all as far as the clue was concerned), 31ac (TILTED, anyone?) and 15ac – where the answer was clear enough, but the wordplay anything but. Finish time above average for the i, perhaps because I’ve yet to wake up.

Lots of inventive clues, and lots of ticks too, with COD going to the quite unusual 10ac – ‘I got drunk with this rum in Tangiers (7)’.

To Halloween 2012, which may or may not explain some of the answers:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/31/independent-8127crosophile/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1934 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Glad you enjoyed it Jon. I do not wish to sound a negative note, and will therefore confine myself to saying that 22d was rather nice.

  2. dtw42 said

    Having made a quick start, and enjoyed most of it, I failed at the end on 26, 27, and 31.
    26 particularly has now elicited a “humph” from me.
    On the other hand, I was quite happy with the wordplay in 15ac.

  3. sprouthater said

    Really enjoyed this, loads of ticks, needed Chambers to confirm Zea and 31a caused a furrowed brow at first until remembering listed buildings. Only tut was for me = us in 28a. As an ex printer I’d have had to give myself a good talking to if I hadn’t​ got 15a.☺

Comments are closed.

