i Cryptic Crossword 1932 Radian

April 18, 2017

The Tuesday theme is difficult to miss this time, even for me, so no prizes for spotting the various things lurking in the undergrowth. Radian invariably gives good value: I thoroughly enjoyed the puzzle and hope everybody else was similarly entertained.

There’s a quibble about 15d, which was bound to get a good airing at Fifteensquared back in November 2012. Without doubt this clue is a no ball, but I wonder if it caused anyone significant problems? The same goes for the discussion of Ulster in relation to 7d, which is fine by me. Apart from those two there was nothing but well-deserved praise for a crossword peppered with excellent clues. This makes singling just one out for CoD more than usually difficult, so this is a rather random pick from the many which received ticks:

1d: “Stock control girl acted strangely with tin-opener (6,4)”

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1932 Radian”

  1. sprouthater said

    I found this pretty difficult. 15d only went in because it was all that would fit and 18d, that was entered courtesy of a wordfinder. Lots of good clues but for me spoiled by those two and 11a. No problem with NI though and agree with COD.

  2. dtw42 said

    ‘cat’ seemed to be doing double duty in 3dn, which made me grumble a little; and I didn’t think much of ‘yes’=’it is’. However, most of the rest of it was pleasant enough and went in without much fuss 🙂

  3. Cornick said

    I thought it was a top end puzzle packed full of invention and excellent penny-drop moments.
    When I enjoy clues as much as 15d I find it hard to quibble about capitalisation; indeed it sometimes seems a tad arbitrary that (according to ‘the rules’) setters can use Bolt to indicate Usain but not bolt.

    • jonofwales said

      Yikes. I didn’t get a proper run at this today, and struggled, solving in dribs and drabs. Perhaps if I’d had more time to solve…

  4. Dave said

    Why does it seem that on a Bank Holiday Monday when I’ve got oodles of time to relax into a tough puzzle they give me a relatively easy one. Today I arrive home late and sit down at 10pm for an hour and only get half way!

Comments are closed.

