i Cryptic Crossword 1931 Quixote

April 17, 2017

A gentle start to the week from 4d’s alter-ego, giving us all lots of time to do something potentially more constructive with the bank holiday. Nice to see that I’m not as ancient as I feared, as ET is no longer an ‘old movie’, as it was the last time the Don used it in a clue. 🙂

COD? 18ac – ‘Homework’s managed – then one’s laid around before meal (11)’.

To October 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/01/independent-8101-by-quixote/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1931 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Indeed, that went quickly but was none the worse for it. My constructive task for the day is rebinding my poor old crossword dictionary.

  2. philip greenwell said

    Pretty straightforward apart from 2d and 11a which I couldn’t parse. I’m off to cut the grass, oh dear it’s started to rain ☺

    • jonofwales said

      Welcome back, hope you had a good break! 🙂 No rain here in Wales to save me from the various jobs that apparently need doing…

  3. Cornick said

    Yup, same here, Rather oddly the COD – which is a fine word that rang a bell from somewhere but needed confirming in a dictionary – appears in neither Chambers nor Collins, not even in the ‘pre-‘ box. Strange that.

    • jonofwales said

      It’s in my electronic version of Chambers, but perhaps hidden somewhere in the depths of the printed versions. They’re fond of doing that…

      • Cornick said

        The dear old BRB isn’t always perfect. My proud claim to fame is getting them to change one of the definitions of mouse from ‘small lead weight used to balance sash windows’ to ‘small lead weight used to thread sash cord’. I like telling people that 🙂

    • AndyT said

      Weirdly, it’s in my paper Chambers (yes, I gave in eventually), with its own entry.

      • Cornick said

        To be fair ‘prandial’ is in both books – and I’m happy the latest edition is up to speed!

Comments are closed.

