i Cryptic Crossword 1928 Eimi

April 13, 2017

A fun, fairly straightforward puzzle from the crossword editor. Painters galore, some well known, some less so, but all were gettable from the wordplay. I did check 11ac and 14d on Google just to make sure I wasn’t making them up, but knew most of the rest, with 15ac a bit of a gimme. Last in 27ac which I’m guessing a lot of solvers would have struggled with. I didn’t notice, but all the painters included have apparently painted The Last Supper, this being of course Maundy Thursday. All of which leaves me time to go and paint some more fences…

COD? 9ac – ‘Fancy getting flesh out? (9)’.

To Maundy Thursday 2013: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/03/28/independent-8253-eimi/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1928 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Lots of fun. All those artists, and 4d too. 😉 Regarding 27, I happened to know the word, which was just as well because the clue made no sense to me. Matters liturgical are not my strong suit, at all.

  2. Cornick said

    Ah, I geddit now, Last Supper… Very good.
    All highly enjoyable until I came unstuck at the last.
    My Pears Cyclopaedia has a ‘Literary Companion’ section which is very much to be recommended, but it doesn’t mention ICTUS anywhere. And with Benedictus equally unfathomable, I gave up. No-one on the other channel seemed to mind though.

  3. Dave said

    Did Carl Andre (of the piles of bricks) do a Last Supper?

Comments are closed.

