i Cryptic Crossword 1926 Tyrus

April 11, 2017

Our first reprint from 2013 comes courtesy of a fairly gentle offering from Tyrus, albeit with a little sting in the tail at the end on 5d and 11ac, where I struggled badly. Some nice long phrases, and a theme that revealed itself very quickly no doubt helped somewhat. I’m wondering how memorable the ‘amorous manager’ was in 2013, surely it was a little after his time? I still managed to dredge up his name even now, so I’m guessing famous enough. The ‘Cambridge female’ seems to come up quite a lot in one guise or another, and manages to throw me every time. I obviously don’t take enough notice of our ruling classes.

COD? I had lots and lots of ticks by the clues, but I’ll go with 23d – ‘Positive in attitude, they make company (3-2)’.

To January (!) 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/12/independent-8183-by-tyrus/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1926 Tyrus”

  1. AndyT said

    Hardly the teeth-grinder one expects from Tyrus, was it? I’m really not convinced by 18, but otherwise a thoroughly entertaining puzzle with a couple of chuckles along the way. There was that manager for one (and he must be memorable considering that I take a pride in my ignorance of his field), and also 13. Ho ho.

  2. Cornick said

    Very nice.
    KATOWICE was my last one in too – needed to come here to parse it.
    With 6d (great surface reading btw), like the blogger from 2013 I initially thought ‘turn up’ meant NRUT, but ‘up’ must just be an anagram indicator.

Comments are closed.

