i Cryptic Crossword 1922 Nestor

April 6, 2017

I’ll be interested to know how others got on with this. I managed about half the puzzle, but then came to a grinding halt and just couldn’t make any headway. Put it to one side for a bit, and then spent the same time again making steady, if slow progress. Solved RHS first, then the NW, and finally the SW corner, where not knowing either the joint or the synonym for ‘anorak’ did for me, and I resorted to Chambers. I suspect I may not have woken up during my first try, and might have clocked a better time if I’d waited. More accessible than Tuesday’s, anyway, though still quite a challenge, it’s no surprise to see that it’s a Thursday reprint.

I did wonder if there was a Nina, looking at the grid, but completely failed to spot the one that’s there in plain sight, if your Latin’s any good that is.

COD? 1ac – ‘Utterance of first syllables on weak stomach? (6)’.

To November 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/08/independent-8134-nestor/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1922 Nestor”

  1. AndyT said

    Difficult but rewarding, I should say. Progress went in a stately clockwise manner from the NE, finishing up with both the 5s. My Latin is just about up to that, but the chances of me having spotted it without the tip off are negligible. Yes, very good all told, in a thoughtful disentangling sort of way.

  2. dtw42 said

    I took a long time over this – agreed that it was more accessible than Tuesday’s at least, though. Finally (over evening meal) got down to the last one – 26ac – which I couldn’t see. Showed it to my partner and she got it straight away so that was that. I’d had a horrible feeling that “joint” was going to refer to some cannabis slang that I was unfamiliar with, so was quite glad when it turned out not to. Would never have seen the nina.

  3. Cornick said

    Very similar here, Jon. RHS pretty straightforward, then the NW at the next sitting and finally the SW with SPOT-WELD my last one in.
    I found it a real joy, with watertight parsing throughout, my only unfamiliar word being SPOD in 26a (although my boss knew it!)
    Personal fave was 3d – love that sort of thing.
    Guessed the Nina was Latin but assumed both sides ran downwards – certainly couldn’t translate, although the idea is excellent.

Comments are closed.

