i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1912 by Phi

April 1, 2017

Saturday 25th March 2017

Our general knowledge got a bit of a stretch last Saturday. I remembered ‘Urbi et orbi’ from a trip to Rome, deduced ‘Organogram’ from the wordplay, eventually worked out ‘Dun Laoghaire’ and ‘Hertford College’ but failed completely on ‘Dunmow Flitch’ (exact = dun?).  For that last one it would have helped had I been a fan of early ‘50s Pinewood comedies – ‘Made in Heaven’ featured the Dunmow Flitch, apparently, and a quick Google search tells me that the next Dunmow Flitch trial is on 11th July 2020 (apply for a side (flitch) of bacon if you have a wife or husband with whom you don’t argue!).

So is that an interesting piece of esoterica or is it an archaism aimed at an audience of the over 60s? You decide, but I was alarmed to learn last week that the word ‘Crossword’ is apparently one of the ten words in most sharp decline at the moment. Makes you think…

Anyhow the clues were all put together in Phi’s usual immaculate style, and the COD for me was the following:

19d Dean Koontz’s first SF villain (5)

And the 2012 blog from Fifteensquared is here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1912 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I mentioned spitting feathers last week, and it was that side of bacon which did it. Compounded for me by “organogram” crossing it. Well, never mind: it was a decent challenge even if there was more reference book activity than usual, and the CoD was a little corker.

    I’m not unduly concerned about the future of the crossword. The same goes for marmalade: every now and then its imminent demise is reported but there’s always a market. Anyway, newspaper editors seem to be well aware that they’d lose customers if they ditched the puzzles.

  2. jonofwales said

    Now, I found this to be on the easy side for Phi, though I did have to check one or two of the answers on Google.

    Are crosswords safe for a while yet? I think so, though how they’ll fare without printed newspapers is another matter altogether, should they succumb to the march of progress.

    • Cornick said

      My sister told me the gloomy stat – she also claims commuters on trains are all on their phones these days.
      I’m sure there’s inherent life in crosswords, but technology changes all the time and I guess it’s all about lifestyles… For me I buy the i paper going to work in the morning, but at the weekend I’m happy to print off crosswords from online newspapers or websites like Big Dave. Can’t be doing with solving on a screen!

Comments are closed.

