i Cryptic Crossword 1917 Punk

March 31, 2017

Well, that was an interesting challenge. Glance at the crossword, note there appears to be some sort of gateway clue. Go to find it, to discover that we have one of our semi-irregular cock-ups by the i. So thanks to dtw42 for posting the missing clues. Sprouthater chose a good week to disappear on his holidays…

So, eventually, we have an enjoyable challenge, that I might have enjoyed more if I hadn’t nipped over to Fifteensquared to try to find the missing clues and spotted one or two answers. But never mind… The rest I found reasonably difficult, though not overly so, and as inventive as you expect when Punk’s on form. A few I didn’t understand, but lots of ticks as well.

COD? 16ac – ‘Embarrassed, describing 3? (8)’.

The missing clues, with thanks to dtw42:

25: Company delivering heat unit (5)
27/3: US political figure, my remit not liberal (4,6)

The 2012 blog can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/20/independent-8144-punk/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1917 Punk”

  1. AndyT said

    Another vote of thanks to dtw42 for the missing bits. Superb crossword, puzzle of the month for me – and I’m still tickled about that Sri Lankan beastie.

  2. Cornick said

    I so very love Punk’s puzzles and wonder Mr Halpern doesn’t maybe save his more interesting crosswords for this paper rather than the Graun…
    Like JoW I popped over to 225 – accidentally spotting the answer to 1a whilst looking for the missing clues. Shame. Otherwise – what a treat! Inventive fun all over the place 🙂

Comments are closed.

