i Cryptic Crossword 1914 Raich

March 28, 2017

A brisk, enjoyable crossword from Raich with a theme so blatant that even I spotted it. Not until near the end, mind you, and it seems that a couple of the Fifteensquared commenters managed to overlook it completely. Anyway, just in case anyone isn’t stuck with a tune which they can’t get out of their head, clicking here should sort that out.

Lots of anagrams and hidden words today which made for a speedily filled grid. I do not much care for 6d, simply because it is an ugly word, but it seems to me that there is nothing whatever to complain about in the clues, and quite a bit to praise. 10, 18 and 23 struck me as particularly nifty, which leaves 17 and 30/28 to choose between for clue of the day. Let’s go for the latter:

“At end of film I am trebly affected in Rome – that’s surprising (5,3)

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1914 Raich”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, speak of the devil! 🙂

    I spotted the theme (though only after all but one of the song titles and the name of the band had gone in), but still managed to make heavy work of what was an enjoyable, breezy puzzle, after making a right pig’s ear of 7d. Remind me to check the anagram a bit more carefully next time.

  2. sprouthater said

    Had to do this in fits and starts which is my excuse along with tunnel vision for not spotting the theme. I really don’t like themed puzzles.

  3. Cornick said

    Yesterday I think I said we were due a few Raich puzzles, and waddya know, along he comes…
    Plenty of entry points to get us started, but still a few tricksy ones I thought – for example I don’t think I’d have got 15a without spotting the theme first. That occurred to me rather later than it should have – surely ‘Fernando’ and ‘Mamma Mia’ was enough, but my pudding head needed ‘Voulez Vous’ as well. Heigh-ho.
    All very enjoyable, thank you Raich/nmsindy!

  4. Dave said

    I enjoyed this one and finished it quickly for me. Only held up by misspelling 14d (as I gather flashling did in the blog!)

Comments are closed.

