i Cryptic Crossword 1910 Klingsor

March 23, 2017

A bit of a challenge today, as expected from a prize puzzle reprint. The top half more than the bottom, I found. The better educated will have spotted the anagram at 17ac quicker than I did, and may have struggled less in that area. Quite a few I needed Fifteensquared to clear up some bits with, but all seems fair and above board at the close.

COD? 2d – ‘One demands Guinness? (7)’.

To November 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/10/independent-prize-puzzle-31112-8130-klingsor/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1910 Klingsor”

  1. Cornick said

    Seriously tricky today from Klingsor, slowly filled from the bottom up with one or two bits of electronic help along the way.
    I once played Hippolytus – back in my AmDram days – didn’t make 17a any easier though!

  2. dtw42 said

    Well, I finished that in the end, but around six were written in faint because I wasn’t 100% sure, having been unable to parse them. Cross checking the fifteensquared blog, I’m pleased to see they were all right, but I wasn’t confident.

  3. AndyT said

    I didn’t enjoy this as much as usual with Klingsor, sorry to say. It seemed just a bit too wilfully obstructive, leaving me with the feeling of having performed a whole series of dental extractions. 17ac was one of the very few write-ins for me … whether that makes me well educated I rather doubt. More like a repository of random information.

  4. Dave said

    Stuck in the bottom right again. 25a and d, with 20d. Roald Dahl first brought 1a’s to the world’s attention.

  5. sprouthater said

    As I start with the across clues I was a concerned as at wasn’t until 21a that I wrote anything at all. Got there in the end but with a lot of question marks. As AndyT says a bit too wilfully obstructive.

Comments are closed.

