i Cryptic Crossword 1909 Dac

March 22, 2017

The LHS of this puzzle felt much like our usual Wednesday Dac, but the RHS was a different matter altogether, and took an absolute age. 20ac is one my pet hates – an obscurity in both wordplay and definition – and 13d is extremely difficult if, like me, you had no idea that Jonathan is a type of apple. 10ac could have been either TOE IN or TIE ON as far as my knowledge of mechanics goes… I note that 23ac has been changed from the original clue, to rectify an error by both setter and editor back in the day. 🙂

Lots of ticks by the clues too, COD going to 19ac – ‘Area you shouldn’t enter, love, after a drink (2-2).

To October 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/17/independent-8115-dac/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1909 Dac”

  1. Lizard said

    Should 29a be throw into or turn into, rather than thrown into?

    • Cornick said

      That was my only question mark in the whole puzzle, Lizard. I see now though, looking at Fifteenquared,that ‘thrown into’ is the insertion indicator and we’re being asked to insert ‘become’ = ‘go’ as in ‘his lips become [go] blue with cold’.

      • Lizard said

        Thank you Cornick. I read that on the other blog, but didn’t follow it at first. I see it now!

  2. Cornick said

    My experience precisely, jonofwales. The last 6, then 4, then 2 in the SE corner getting progressively harder.

  3. AndyT said

    Blimey, that wasn’t a standard Wednesday puzzle. I thought this would turn out to be one of Dac’s occasional pangrams, but it’s not one of those either. Anyway, very much to my taste, even with all the French stuff. I agree with Cornick’s parsing of 29ac, which took a bit of squinting at. Well, the whole SE corner was a knotty affair as far as I’m concerned.

    A tip of the hat from me to that grand old cruciverbalist and crime writer Colin Dexter, who died yesterday and whose obituary appears on page 18. Does anybody else remember his short-lived radio series about crosswords?

  4. Dave said

    Ground to a sticky halt in the bottom right corner. 😦

Comments are closed.

