i Cryptic Crossword 1908 Radian

March 21, 2017

Started at a gallop; finished at a stroll – the bottom half being considerably more thorny than the top if my experience is anything to go by. It being Tuesday there’s a theme, based around 2d/7ac and it’s a good deal more extensive than I appreciated at first. Bertandjoyce’s Fifteensquared blog entry from October 2012 explains all.

Radian is a wily compiler who gives plenty of entertainment, and there are rather too many noteworthy clues to acknowledge individually. Some may consider 4d a little de trop on account of those Amazonians who were certainly new to me, but the puzzle is otherwise free of obscurities. I particularly enjoyed 11, 22 and 23; 14 looked like being my COD but was pipped at the post by 19d:

“Mozart’s pieces help tourist attraction in the Med (7)”

Congratulations to Cornick on the publication of another excellent Maize crossword in today’s Independent.

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1908 Radian”

  1. jonofwales said

    I found this decidedly tricky, with a lot of question marks at the end. Perhaps I should have sorted them myself, but well, that’s what the blog’s for. 🙂 4d I thought quite unfair, with obscurities in both the answer and wordplay. 1ac was less than common too. Oh, and 19d, the less said about that the better…

    I think I’ve struggled with Radian before, so perhaps we’re just on different wavelengths altogether.

  2. sprouthater said

    Quite a challenge but helped by the anagrams at 1,10 and 29a to get a start. I wouldn’t have solved 19d if not for a word search on my dictionary, an obscurity too far for me. My favourites were 11a and 16d.

  3. dtw42 said

    Like others, I slowed down a lot in the bottom third of the grid. Didn’t struggle with 19 – actually quite liked that one; my last four in (quite a while after the rest) were 21 (not much impressed by the use of ‘serves’ there), 23, 25 (an ugly word really), and 27.

  4. Cornick said

    Excellent crossword, much enjoyed here. Radian got away with Tupi for me because I managed to recall Occiput, but I lacked sufficient will to fully parse 20/18a – the answer being very clear in any case.

    Thanks for plugging my efforts in another place, AndyT. Lord only knows what I’ll do if one day it appears in the i and I have to blog my own puzzle!

  5. Cornick said

    Excellent puzzle, much enjoyed here. Fortunately Occiput popped into my head from somewhere, so I could deduce the Tupi tribe by working backwards. Missing Link was similarly apparent and, with the wordplay seeming complicated, it was bunged in without being parsed.

    Thanks for the plug for my efforts in another place, AndyT.

Comments are closed.

