i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1900 by Phi

March 18, 2017

Saturday 11th March 2017

Not as easy as the Fifteensquared set might have you believe in the 2012 blog here, because there was actually quite a bit of complex wordplay to unpick, I thought. But not too hard either – in fact I found it right up my street, in a personal kind of Goldilocks zone.

Just a couple of obscurities – the archaic ‘limn’ at 17d and the vaguely familiar ‘gamp’ at 12a.

The puzzle did feature a pair of linked clues – the two Marx Bros. films at 6d and 9d My guess is that, having spotted the build your own anagram possibilities of ‘Animal Crackers’, Phi noticed that ‘A Day at the Races’ was the same length and used those two as the seeds for his grid fill.

Clue of the Day? Phi is right to point out the interesting capitalisation in 13a, which at a stroke makes it an &Lit, but I rather liked the naval fiction surface of this one:

8d   Ocean rising under ship, engulfing Duke’s fighting groups (8)

And for what it’s worth I agree with Pelham Barton’s comment @2 on the other channel.

 

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1900 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    A quick solve for me, or at least that’s what I wrote in the margin. By happy coincidence there was a radio programme about Neville Chamberlaine last week (famous for his umbrella which has become a symbol of appeasement for cartoonists, apparently) – so “gamp” was fresh in my mind. Any reference to the Marx Bros. is always welcome, and all told a thoroughly entertaining puzzle.

  2. Rick King said

    Good puzzle, I am not a Marx brothers exit and was sorely tempted to look up their filmography once I got Day At The Races, but it was much more rewarding to get the solve – a neat bit of cluing too.

  3. jonofwales said

    Solved with half a mind on the work I was doing in parallel at the time, but the clues went in readily enough without my full attention so I’m guessing this was reasonably straightforward for Phi, who often needs my full attention and more.

Comments are closed.

