i Cryptic Crossword 1905 Tees

March 17, 2017

An excellent and extremely challenging puzzle from Tees today. I certainly wouldn’t have finished this without some outside assistance. Google was the only place I could find for confirming 25a , a lovely anagram but a completely unknown definition. 15d similarly an excellent clue but I only know them in relation to Monaco and 21a spelt with an S, again a great clue containing the solvers go to priest but new to me. The grid had quite a few long answers but I thought enough checking letters to enable solving even if parsing proved difficult which was the case for me with 6d, a very funny book which I read a long time ago but had a bit of trouble extracting from the clue.

With so many good clues choosing a favourite ought to be difficult but one really stands out for me –

COD  7d        What might cryptically and literally get you meatballs from stale lamb? (4,9)

The original blog with a comment from the setter on the use of daughters in 11a is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/25/independent-8122tees/

 

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1905 Tees”

  1. jonofwales said

    Agreed, thoroughly enjoyable. Puzzle of the week for me. Agreed on the COD.

  2. Cornick said

    COD was a beauty! Didn’t put in 13a though as, not being familiar with that sense of the word reed, and having access to neither books nor internet, I just couldn’t be sure of the answer.

  3. AndyT said

    Another happy customer here – well, except for that reed. Never heard it in many years of being an archer. Anyway, puzzle of the week for me too.

Comments are closed.

