i Cryptic Crossword 1904 Hypnos

March 16, 2017

I’m not sure if I’m just off-form, but I found today’s offering extremely difficult. I guessed it was an IoS reprint from the setter’s name, but just couldn’t get to grips with it and staggered across the finish line having cheated just to get there. In my defence I’ll note an ex-minister at 4d, a possibly incorrect enumeration at 26ac (shouldn’t that be two words?) and a pretty obscure abbreviation at 9ac. Perhaps sour grapes, but I’m afraid I found the whole to be a bit of a slog.

COD? Nothing really stands out, but I’ll go with 18d – ‘One having completed work on Scottish island (7)’.

To November 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/11/04/independent-on-sunday-1184-28th-oct-hypnos/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1904 Hypnos”

  1. AndyT said

    Oh – I enjoyed myself and thought it was a fairly gentle one for Hypnos, unless I’m getting my compilers mixed up. Must be having one of my rare good days. With regard to 26ac, what about this, then?

    “Self-proclaimed bird watcher (7)”

    Unsurprisingly that’s one of Arachne’s. πŸ™‚

  2. dtw42 said

    Not too bad for me – middling, but nearer to AT’s experience than JoW’s.

  3. sprouthater said

    I thought it was ok nothing very exciting a bit over reliant on abbreviations. The ex-minister was quite memorable compared with the ex reps mobile in 1d. Nice to see a return of our favourite golfer thoughπŸ™‚

  4. Cornick said

    Medium difficulty-wise I thought, but I can’t help wondering whether my lack of enjoyment in this week’s puzzles is down to the setters or a bout of influenza.
    Hopefully tomorrow’s offering will be somewhere near as good as last Friday’s Nestor (which I loved) and maybe I will have perked up a bit too!

  5. jonofwales said

    Me having an off day then. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

