i Cryptic Crossword 1903 Dac

March 15, 2017

A little more difficult than par for Dac in places, perhaps, especially in the NE corner which took much of my time today, with 7d last to fall (after which I kicked myself, having encountered the answer at least once previously). A few unknowns elsewhere – the drug at 14ac, which fell pretty easily, and 26ac that took a little more time.

Lots to like as ever, COD going to 13ac – ‘Commission components for mate (7)’.

To October 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/10/independent-8109-dac/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1903 Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    Much the same here, with an audible groan when the penny dropped re 7d. All very entertaining, and my joy was compounded by an absence of staples today.

  2. sprouthater said

    4a,7d and 26a all went in more by luck than judgement. The three of them seemed dubious to me.

  3. Cornick said

    A curious mix of some of the easiest clues Dac has ever given us and some of the trickiest. I really liked 5d.

  4. dtw42 said

    What Cornick said: I breezed through so much of this over breakfast that I forced myself to stop thinking I was going to finish it before work. Then later on came back to it and found the next bit a lot harder. Last in – unsurprisingly – were 4ac and then 7dn. Really didn’t think much of that last one.

  5. allan_c said

    As others have said, a little harder than your average Dac, and I had no recollection of doing this one on its 2012 outing.
    Just a passing comment about 27ac, something that wasn’t picked up in the original blog or comments; PENI is in Chambers as a Spenserian spelling of ‘penny’

Comments are closed.

