i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1894 by Phi

March 11, 2017

Saturday 4th March 2017

I found this puzzle both enjoyable and pretty straightforward with none of the obscurities or Crosswordese wordplay elements Phi’s been giving us of late; one or two clues had somewhat complex parsing, but that’s all fair game in my book.

In the Fifteensquared blog from 2012 here, Phi tells us how the five writers which feature – Clarke, Shaw, Kipling, Archer and Tennysson – are a hangover from this puzzle’s origins as an offering for a book magazine that didn’t get used. Fanny Burney’s ‘Evelina’, Hardback, Reviews, Rereads and Reportage were also part of the theme and possibly even Chamber[s]and Bar codes, at a stretch.  Whilst Clive of India undoubtedly wrote some significant letters, his status as a ‘hero’ (from the clue) rather depends upon your take on history…

Also on the other channel, Phi cleared up any possible ambiguity about the parsing in 22d – it’s ‘ran cour[se]’ (overlooking London area) not ‘ran cour[t]’.

No obvious CoD for me, so I‘ll plump somewhat randomly for 21a:

One beaten by player’s calm, heading off into returning gloom (10)

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1894 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I made somewhat heavier weather with this puzzle than usual for a Saturday, but still enjoyed it. I had the feeling that something was passing me by, what with all the bookish words, but it’s heartening to know that it’s simply a diffuse literary theme. The COD is a good choice, in my opinion.

  2. Rick King said

    Not a walk in the park for me but being on holiday this week have me a chance to tidy up loose ends that might have remained unsolved.
    Another vote for 21a.

  3. jonofwales said

    I found this on the easy side for Phi, though I did make a hash of 13ac, trying lots of different combinations of the letters before the down clues eventually set me on the right path.

Comments are closed.

