i Cryptic Crossword 1898 Anax

March 9, 2017

A challenging test today, as you expect with Anax, but that grid screamed Nina, and with a few letters in it became clear exactly whose birthday was being celebrated back in the day. Could you complain that this gave hard-core cruciverbalists a bit of a head start? Yes you could, but with Anax I’ll take all the head starts I can get. 🙂 More than one or two went in based on definition, crossing letters, and a bit of a wing and a prayer, but again that’s often my experience when solving his puzzles. I thought it was a bit mean putting 19d and 21ac in the same corner, both being pretty obscure (and there are a lot of girl’s names to pick from, let’s be fair), but the rest of the grid was filled pretty steadily, if slowly.

COD? With lots to pick from, I’ll go with 3d – ‘Brash, funky sound (8)’.

Happy belated birthday, then, Klingsor! And back to September 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/09/20/independent-8092-anax/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1898 Anax”

  1. AndyT said

    Much the same here. I got off to a fairly swift start, but hit heavy going in the bottom half. A few clues seemed to me to nudge the boundary of fairness, and for my money 28ac steps over it. Quite enjoyable on the whole though.

  2. dtw42 said

    Yeah; similar here. The message in the middle was the first inkling for me that something was going on; then started paying close attention to the top row. As soon as that became clear, I pencilled in the bottom row too as extremely likely. Kinda needed that helping hand really as some bits were pretty tough.

  3. sprouthater said

    Extremely tough with clues ranging from brilliant to dubious. Started slowly and finished er slower.

Comments are closed.

