i Cryptic Crossword 1896 Tyrus

March 7, 2017

This one may well divide opinion. Tyrus is one of the Indie’s more challenging setters, and some of today’s clues were highly resistant to parsing, even when the answer was evident. The only one I gave up on was 19, and having read the explanation at Fifteensquared, all I can say to that is “harrumph”. The rest made sense to me eventually, and despite the mental contortions required all is fair and above board.

We have quite a few interlinked clues today, which won’t appeal to everybody – but once the theme becomes clear it does help a lot. 14/4 is outstanding, and provided a useful toehold. There’s a good deal of wit to enjoy today, of which perhaps the most outrageous example is 10ac; and I particularly liked 6, 16 and 22. They’re pipped at the post by 8d, which is my clue of the day:

“Underground passengers – a couple lost bags (8)”

This crossword first appeared in October 2012 on a Monday: a bracing start to the week.

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1896 Tyrus”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yeeees… I just finished this, but with quite a few put in without being understood.
    Is “shove” now an anagram indicator? O.o
    I didn’t mind the linked clues, but wasn’t keen on the obscure wordplay.

  2. jonofwales said

    Well, I finished… Did I enjoy the experience? I’m not sure. I persisted, so perhaps the answer is yes. Hated O for FA at 12ac, the interlinked clues, and the long anagrams, however.

  3. sprouthater said

    Finished eventually, didn’t help that I entered 16a in18. Quite a few question marks most resolved. Didn’t like “shove” or O for FA much and the parsing of 29a and 24d still eludes me. Don’t like interlink clues but really enjoyed the long anagrams. Agree with COD

  4. Cornick said

    On another day I might have given up with a couple unsolved and a few more un-parsed. But being sans internet I persisted and got it all done and dusted – so a minor lesson learned about perseverance maybe.
    As for the puzzle – well it kept me engaged, with a mixture of dogged determination and quite a bit of pleasure. Certainly a nice sense of achievement at the end.
    As for the linked clues, is this some sort of old-fashioned film-noir type of expression? It does ring a very quiet bell in my memory somewhere.

    • AndyT said

      The expression is attributed to larger-than-life Australian journalist Murray Sayle, apparently. It certainly rang a bell, its origin was news to me, ho ho.

      • Cornick said

        Thanks – you prompted me to read his Wiki entry – interesting chap! And the phrase seems to date from the early 50s, so I’ve probably overheard my father using it by way of banter or something.

Comments are closed.

