i Cryptic Crossword 1895 Quixote

March 6, 2017

On the trickier side for Quixote – I started off at a fair gallop, but quickly began to slow down and ended up staring for an age at 17/23/16/15ac and down, and 9d. Finally untangling the anagram at 17ac proved to be the key to breaking this log-jam, though I must admit that 15d was a bit of a (lucky) guess at the close.

Lots and lots of very nice clues today – 15ac, 17ac and 1ac are all worthy of mention, but my COD goes to 22d – ‘A reticent Cinders must have been this (4)’.

To August 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/20/independent-8065-by-quixote/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1895 Quixote”

  1. sprouthater said

    Similar experience here even though I got 17a fairly early on. 15a,1d and 16d all entered without fully understanding why. Still not sure about 1d.

  2. AndyT said

    Yes, one of Quixote’s trickier puzzles, and thoroughly enjoyable. 17ac stood out for me. I haven’t checked 15² yet, but assumed that 1d refers to Richard Rich (quite a nasty piece of work even by Tudor standards, if I remember rightly).

    The crossword by Radler which Cornick recommended on Saturday was quite exceptional and well worth seeking out.

  3. Cornick said

    I similarly raced through the first two thirds then slowed to a crawl, but curiously with a slightly different set of obstacles – 15a, 16d, 25d and 14a – the last of which beat me.
    I too liked 17a – an apt description of either of my two teenage sons, regrettably.

  4. Dave said

    1d, 14a and 25a were all unknowns to me but still put in. The ones I couldn’t get were 15d and 5d. So another DNF for me.

  5. dtw42 said

    I put this aside with 14ac and 1dn unfilled – I could see what they *probably* were going to be, but had no idea who was being referred to. I did like 2dn though 🙂

Comments are closed.

