i Cryptic Crossword 1893 Donk

March 3, 2017

The debut of Donk , and quite a debut it is being a Saturday prize puzzle. I found it tough, entertaining and with one exception very well clued. Whether it was because of oversleeping or unfamiliarity with the setters style, probably a bit of both but I found this difficult to get into only solving four of the across clues on the first pass but little by little and with some electronic help I got there.9a,10a and 17a had me looking for something far more complicated than the obvious solutions  and 7d, I could see the answer but couldn’t parse, maths isn’t my thing at all. It was 21a that I thought a bit dubious, Jose – the special one? I can’t say I really understood my LOI 19a either. Lots of clues to choose from for a favourite but I think for

COD  15/24      Big Society – Conservative guff (4,5)

For all the solutions and much discussion ,some of which concerns 9a of which there seems to have been two versions, the blog from October 2012 is here.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/20/independent-crossword-8112-by-donk-saturday-prize-puzzle-13-10-2012/

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1893 Donk”

  1. jonofwales said

    Another week with two Saturdays in it. 🙂

    Most definitely a three pipe problem, I found it in turn exasperating, entertaining and ingenious. Enjoyable, but I wouldn’t want one this tricky every day!

    COD for me 17d.

  2. AndyT said

    Absorbing and entertaining. Some of the mental jumps reminded me of Arachne, which is high praise – I’d be very happy to see more of Donk. Comfortably my favourite crossword this week.

  3. Cornick said

    Yes, I’d been waiting for a puzzle of the week and this was surely it. Challenging because of the consistent high calibre – no gimmes in this one – but in hindsight they all seemed much easier, which is as it should be.
    Slight quibble with 25a – can you take the top off a word going across? and with 3d where I thought it was ‘spied Annette’ = Spider net, imagining some sort of Celtic weaving thing, but otherwise this was oozing quality.

  4. dtw42 said

    This was the only one this week that I didn’t finish on my own during the daytime. The whole NW corner (apart from 1d, written in faintly because I wasn’t sure) was blank until half an hour ago. Have just put heads together with my girlfriend and between us we’ve managed to unpick that corner. Quite a brain strain though. Not *my* favourite, so horses for courses, eh?

Comments are closed.

