i Cryptic Crossword 1892 Morph

March 2, 2017

I invariably enjoy Morph’s offerings, and this was no exception. Lots of fun, inventive clues, I started off rapidly on the left of the grid before gradually slowing down as I moved to the east. Last in 5d and 14ac, more I suspect because I ran out of steam by the end, which seems to be happening a lot lately, rather than any inherent difficulty. Nothing controversial, I think? We have the Welsh word for ‘rock / cliff’ in the top row, and lots to do man, girl, etc, dotted about especially in the bottom half of the grid, but I haven’t spotted any theme.

COD? 3d – ‘Zoo attraction? Polar bears might exert such a pull (6,9)’.

Surprisingly this is a Saturday Prize Puzzle reprint; they’re usually much harder going than this:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/09/29/independent-8094-by-morph/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1892 Morph”

  1. dtw42 said

    Well it was hard going for me, if not for you!
    I’ve just finished after making heavy work of it. Couldn’t parse 15ac or 24dn completely, but put them in from the defs and checked letters. 1dn is a word I’d always spell with a ‘u’ but thankfully I was aware it could also be with an ‘i’.

  2. sprouthater said

    Exactly what dtw42 said.

  3. Cornick said

    I enjoyed that. About average difficulty for a Morph probably, but I got caught out at the end with the somewhat enigmatic 6a intersecting with 1d which I reckoned had to be either gurn or grin. Turned out to be girn (the more usual spelling, I’m surprised to learn) so I can now see how the clue is an unambiguous &Lit.

  4. AndyT said

    Interesting and often clever, if a bit heavy going. My experience was very much the same as dtw42’s. For afters I tackled the Sphinx puzzle from the Guardian mentioned yesterday, which gave me a greater appreciation for Morph’s professionalism. Best leave it at that, I think.

    • Cornick said

      Yes, I’ve spent the last little while discovering just how hard it is on the other side of the fence, so I have every sympathy with Mr Pemberton. The programme ‘Inside No. 9’ is thoroughly recommended though, if you can access it.

  5. Dave said

    Another Did Not Finish for me I’m afraid… Apec, Anomie…?

Comments are closed.

