i Cryptic Crossword 1885 Dac

February 22, 2017

On the more difficult side for Dac, with lots of clues dotted in here and there, and no real momentum built up. That said I never really got stuck, but always felt that I needed to be on top of my game. A couple of unknowns – that well known king at 3d, and 22d – but both were reasonably straightforward to solve.

COD? 1ac – ‘Departing president leaving country in mess (8)’, if only because I was thinking of the wrong country for too long. 🙂 Nice also to see this has been edited to bring it up to date. He didn’t last long, did he?

Back to September 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/09/12/independent-8085-dac/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1885 Dac”

  1. Cornick said

    Re the difficulty level, I notice quite a range of responses from the commenters on the other channel. Put me in the ‘easier than usual’ camp this time, but that probably has less to do with the puzzle and more with a rare bit of good form to contrast with my usual dopiness.

  2. AndyT said

    This looked likely to be a struggle after my dismal showing with the across clues, but the pace picked up thereafter. Hardly what you might call motoring, though. Dac’s workmanship is impeccable as usual. 1ac had only been in the job for a few months at the time of original publication and possibly somewhat newsworthy, but I can’t recall a time when that name would be the first to spring to mind in association with “president”, shall we say?

  3. dtw42 said

    I think 1ac might have been my last one in. Less speedy today than yesterday, but still fairly light work, I thought.

  4. sprouthater said

    1a was definitely my LOI and a worthy COD. Nice to see China (12a) and gun (21a) getting used again 🤔 these two are getting a bit like Di.

Comments are closed.

