i Cryptic Crossword 1880 Tees

February 16, 2017

I’m afraid I found this a bit of a slog that took much longer than I’m really prepared to spend on a daily cryptic. It wasn’t a surprise to see that this is an old Indy Saturday Prize Puzzle reprint, where perhaps it was better placed. Tees isn’t amongst my favourite setter, so your mileage may vary.

COD? 26ac – ‘Gambler now attending Gamblers Anonymous? (6)’.

To October 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/06/independent-prize-puzzle-8100-tees/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1880 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    I got about 80% of the way through quite smoothly; another 15% with some heavy internet checking, and then gave up on the last three – which were 1dn, 20dn, and 23ac. Expecting us to spot Truman Capote’s real name I feel was step too for for a daily.

  2. AndyT said

    Mixed feelings here. I enjoyed the challenge and thought there was a lot of good stuff in there, but it was right at the limits of what could be considered acceptable in a weekday puzzle. The three dtw42 mentions are all borderline, and 7d feels obscure to me (but I await Cornick’s opinion on that).

    On the whole this sort of deviousness is my cup of tea, but it’s understandable if other solvers – especially those in a hurry – consider it a bit unsporting. A bit of humour helps, and this wasn’t really a laugh a minute. Mind you, 15d was much appreciated.

  3. Cornick said

    Our editor seems to like giving us our stiffest challenge of the week on a Thursday, and I for one would get bored if I could finish every puzzle at a canter, so no complaints here.
    I loved the first half of the clues including 4a and 25a – The CoD came late but was another goodie.
    Having said that, Sharon Gless, Nelumbo (I knew it, but really don’t like Crosswordese words like Lum at all), Athena Pallas, Truman Persons were all pretty off-putting and the Mental Strength clue was very loose, I thought.

Comments are closed.

