i Cryptic Crossword 1879 Poins

February 15, 2017

A steady, reasonably 16ac solve today, courtesy of a reprint from the Independent on Sunday. Little to query or cause much controversy. The use of 26ac was probably unfamiliar to most solvers, though the wordplay was straightforward enough that most will have got there in the end. And we have a rare lapse by the editor at 6d. What would crossword setters have done without Mr Cable?
I had a fair few ticks by the clue, COD going to 16ac – ‘Model having money problems (7)’.

We leap from February to October 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/10/07/independent-on-sunday-1180poins/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1879 Poins”

  1. dtw42 said

    Agreed – I made slow progress, but got there in the end and didn’t feel cheated by anything; 26ac was last in for exactly that “not heard of this usage” reason, but by that point the checking letters confirmed it couldn’t be anything else.

  2. sprouthater said

    A workmanlike effort I thought. I didn’t particularly like 9 and 31a but thats just me. Whilst 16a was clever in its simplicity I thought 28a was as clever in its complexity.

  3. Cornick said

    Enjoyable fare. 26a was my lastone in too, Decent, D and Decadent all being areas of uncertainty. Mind you the A was nailed on! My only quibble – apart from Mr Cable of course – was with Turnkey which suffered from what has been called ‘same-both-sidesiness’ or, if you’re being posh, etymological crossover.

  4. AndyT said

    Not desperately impressed, I’m afraid. Rather heavy on the chestnuts, and 14 and 31 were both poor in my estimation. Is “separate” a synonym for “solitary”? News to me.

    • jonofwales said

      Might you not be separate from, apart from other people, on your own?

      • AndyT said

        I think the operative word there is “might”. đŸ™‚

        There is an archaic (16th century) sense of “solitary” as “to seclude”, which works for me: “… it behoueth him to solitarie himselfe from sinne”. A bit hardcore for a Wednesday, though.

Comments are closed.

