i Cryptic Crossword 1875 Rorschach

February 10, 2017

When this puzzle first appeared it provoked much comment and mostly praise from the Fifteensquared community, it is not until comment 16 that any criticism is voiced about the “looseness” of some of the clues. Well maybe its an age thing because I to wasn’t very enthused by some of this, especially, 27a where a knowledge of the French language is required to make any sense of the parsing and 23d, I don’t like this sort of clue. This whole corner was made difficult by my failing to realise that the editor had amended 22a. Doh. I also took ages to see the hidden answer in 12a that wasn’t helped by my not really associating the answer with ostentatious  but with pretentious or posh.

The clue that really stood out today though is

COD 10a  TimeWarner panic to fix copyright infringement (5,5)

A lot of discussion with an input from the setter can be found here http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/09/24/independent-8095rorschach/

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1875 Rorschach”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, I enjoyed that. 🙂 I couldn’t make sense of 27ac either, but couldn’t think of what else to put there after figuring it was ?O?SLE. A bit of a different style to what we’re used to, but quite refreshing I thought, with lots of contemporary references. On the easier side overall, a nice change of pace from some recent Friday puzzles. COD for me 26ac.

  2. Cornick said

    Yes, I too thought it had a fresh feel to it.
    For once I started with 1a and proceeded to fill in the clues one after another for quite a while, so I’d say this was both entertaining and towards the easy end of the Indy spectrum.
    Kicking myself for failing to see the ‘definition’ in 23d, though the answer was clear enough.

  3. AndyT said

    I liked the breezy style, too, the odd clumsy clue like 6d not withstanding. Definitely on the easy side, but none the worse for it. Another vote for 26ac as the COD, with 7d a close runner-up.

  4. dtw42 said

    I’m siding more with Sprouthater here. I had a lot of trouible mostly on the right-hand side, and grumbles with the same clues. An interesting change of style, sure, but some of them were a bit TOO tricksy for my liking.

Comments are closed.

