i Cryptic Crossword 1868 Monk

February 2, 2017

A challenging puzzle, but one that was always fair and solvable with a little persistence. There’s a Nina I failed miserably to spot. It might have helped a little with my last two in – 1ac and 28ac – though only a little, as the letters in question I’d already more or less settled on. There were a couple I failed to parse on solving – notably 23ac where I initially penciled in ONE TO ONE before it became clear it just wouldn’t fit with 16d.

Lots of ticks, with COD going to 6d – ‘Book without readers? Thanks a lot! (5,3)’.

September 2012 over on the other side:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/09/06/independent-8080-monk/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1868 Monk”

  1. AndyT said

    Much grinding of teeth, furrowing of brow and cursing of the compiler. This is normal for Monk, and my Nina blindness is well established – so no surprises today. I cordially hated it until it was finished, at which point I decided it was a super puzzle and worthy of a “bravo”. Just call me Volty McVolte Face.

  2. Cornick said

    Gave up with five to go. Maybe I need to concentrate more!

  3. Raskolnikov said

    Didn’t find this too hard today which is strange,as I normally have trouble with this setter.Good stuff nevertheless.

  4. dtw42 said

    I didn’t have any time to look at this during the day, and by the time I tackled it late at night I found it exceedingly difficult and only got halfway through it. Obviously wasn’t in the right frame of mind.

Comments are closed.

