i Cryptic Crossword 1867 Dac

February 1, 2017

Was I the only person to struggle with this? Nobody seems to have back in the day, so I suspect it’s just me having an off day. Especially as 5d was one of my last in, despite having been a fan of the group in question for too many years. Or I can blame the editor for not spotting that 28ac needed updating. 😉 The exclamation mark in 12ac looks a lot like an l, doesn’t it?

A happy belated birthday to Dac, BTW.

COD? 1ac – ‘Waffle or bun? (6)’.

Back to August 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/22/independent-8067-dac/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1867 Dac”

  1. Cornick said

    Right down the middle of the fairway for this solver; Dac once again fills me with admiration.
    Re 12a, I took the definition to be both of the last two words rather than just the last – the way it was explained on the other channel. I can see how the exclamation mark being an l might have hindered somewhat!

  2. dtw42 said

    I had something of a tough time with the NW corner but otherwise did fine. Yes, the failure to update 28ac was a bit of a boo-boo though, eh!
    What Cornick said re 12ac (happily I read the exclamation mark correctly despite my deteriorating eyesight).

  3. AndyT said

    Very much the same here … I’d probably have struggled with 12ac had I mislaid my reading glasses. 5d and 17 both received particularly emphatic ticks.

  4. sprouthater said

    I got a bit stuck on the SE corner even though 27a was one of my favourites. At first glance I thought 12a was “and howl”

  5. allan_c said

    Interestingly, Dac’s puzzle for the on-line Indy yesterday (I’m posting this on Thursday) had DOODLEBUG clued in the same way, apart from using ‘enthusiasm’ instead of obsession. But if a setter can’t re-use his or her own clues, who can?

    • Cornick said

      Interesting… Don Manley has stated that he doesn’t do so – I don’t really see why a setter shouldn’t though.

Comments are closed.

