i Cryptic Crossword 1865 Poins

January 30, 2017

A pretty tough offering to start the week. I needed a few checking letters to get the long anagram, mostly because the THINE bit threw me somewhat. That well known psychoanalyst in 25ac didn’t help matters… I finished in the NE corner, stumped somewhat by ‘online’ for L which I don’t like, and another obscurity in 6d. Both answers where we had obscurities in the wordplay were fairly gettable with a little thought and a few crossing letters, so perhaps I shouldn’t complain too much. 26ac didn’t worry me, on the other hand, it’s fairly common parlance in this neck of the woods.

COD? 5d – ‘Uttered after Dutch girl is overwhelmed with grief (10)’.

August 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/26/independent-on-sunday-1174poins/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1865 Poins”

  1. dtw42 said

    I’m in general agreement with the fifteensquared commenters on this one: had it done by mid-to-late morning, but with a couple not quite understood, or mildly disliked. No, I wasn’t a fan of “online” for L, either.

  2. AndyT said

    A smidgen of mild dislike here and there, but that “online” didn’t bother me, funnily enough. Quite a decent Monday crossword in my opinion, but nothing to worry Quixote.

  3. sprouthater said

    I get a bit sniffy about abbreviations and this puzzle seemed to have more than most, D for Dutch and D for Germany then G for Germany as well as the L for Line and a few others add in the hackneyed princess and it made for a pretty mediocre experience.

  4. Cornick said

    Not a desperately user friendly grid, but solid enough fare in the clueing for the most part, I thought.
    Having _E_E_A_ crossing with _A_E_U_ was never going to win corner of the year contest.

  5. AndyO said

    Had never heard of the French philosopher before today and 25a had me baffled until he was mentioned in a question on this evening’s University Challenge!

Comments are closed.

