i Cryptic Crossword 1859 Quixote

January 23, 2017

Not quite the walk in the park I was expecting when I saw Quixote’s name. Quite the opposite, in fact. This took as much time as many of the harder offerings we get towards the end of the week. All solvable with a bit of thought, though with more than the usual quota of new words learnt, and a few – is that really the answer? – question marks too.

It appears that Quixote’s comment @4 over on Fifteensquared has been heeded by the editor, at least as far as 6d goes, if not as regards being paid for the i reprints. Oh, and there’s mention in the last few comments of a new crossword blog on the block. Has it really been five years?

COD? 11d – ‘What I’m enjoying is maybe taking hours and hours (4-9)’.

To the summer of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/06/independent-8053-by-quixote/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1859 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    A spiffing example of Quixote’s (mostly) traditionalist style, I thought. Very good indeed.

  2. sprouthater said

    10a is my “why is that the answer” main road – off street? 12a also fell into that category, I must get my eye tested as the colon looks like a full stop to me. Needed an anagram solver for 3d and cricket references went right over my head enjoyed it though. My pick is 22a simply because it’s such a great word😉

  3. Cornick said

    3d was fine for me – all primary school children learn that word nowadays!
    12a threw me though because a) the answer is usually an adjective b) the colon trick seems at a different level of difficulty to the rest of the puzzle and c) the ‘pitching by’ concatenation indicator drew my attention away from said colon. 1d and 13a also tricky.
    So a mixed bag, but I did like your COD, Jon.

Comments are closed.

