i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1852 by Phi

January 21, 2017

Saturday 14th January 2017

I wonder if anyone else starts crosswords by going in search of anagrams?  There were five last weekend which got me off to a quick start, after which progress was steady until the last few in the SE corner.

It’s often the case that I’ll get held up on unknown vocabulary rather than complicated wordplay – and so it proved with GROSGRAIN and GALBA – although with the latter I’m a bit embarrassed about not having known an emperor of Rome… But I do now!

For COD, I think I’ll go with my FOI (first one in):

14a A panorama, with sight bewitched? (14)

And the full answers from 2012 can be found at the Fifteensquared blog site here.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1852 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Galba caught me on the hop too. Your COD was one of my favourites, but I also liked grosgrain and sneaky little 25d. My approach never varies: straight through in order, which is silly really, but habits of a lifetime and all that.

  2. jonofwales said

    This took me an age to finish, but that seems to be the case with most Saturday Phi’s these days, so could mean nothing. I tend to start with the first across and go from there, following any likely looking crossing clues. It seems to work as well as anything.

  3. Rick King said

    Failed on grosgrain, otherwise enjoyable enough. Anagrams are usually first in for me, if I get a large clue in early I am easily distracted to any that I can hang off the big word…

  4. dtw42 said

    Yes, for me it’s usually obvious anagrams, long phrasal answers, and three-letter words that are the best points of entry.

Comments are closed.

