i Cryptic Crossword 1856 Monk

January 19, 2017

Hands up who spotted the symmetrically placed answers? No, I didn’t either. It might have helped a little with the three clues that took me an age at the end (8d, 21ac and 17d), but only a little. An enjoyable puzzle, nevertheless, solved slowly but steadily.

COD? 14d – ‘Fail to stop where flower may be? (9)’.

Back to August 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/02/independent-8050monk/

If you’re hungry for more, our Saturday blogger, as his alter-ego Maize, has a puzzle in today’s Independent. Enjoy! Maize In The Independent

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1856 Monk”

  1. dtw42 said

    This was a lot slower than yesterday’s, and the last eight or so were only solved after I (a) used a wordfinder and (b) came on here an was your comment about symmetrical answers – that helped with the SW corner. I seem to have got stuck in different places from the fifteensquared commenters, though.

  2. AndyT said

    I enjoyed this one, and felt quite pleased with myself for finishing before nightfall – thus leaving me free to grapple with Cornick’s latest on the Independent’s remarkably user-hostile crossword page. It surely goes without saying that Monk’s symmetrical cleverness was entirely wasted on Mr Unobservant, as per.

  3. sprouthater said

    A very slow solve with a long break in the middle. Mostly enjoyable but a couple I thought were a bit overly clever or maybe I wasn’t on Monks wavelength.

  4. AndyT said

    Congratulations and thanks to Mr Maize for the Indy puzzle. Thoroughly entertaining, as I’ve come to expect.

  5. Rosalind said

    Whilst I failed to see the reversals of the symmetrically placed answers for myself, once you had pointed them out I found a further spookiness in realising how many of the down answers could refer to today’s scary event (20/1/17). Monk/Nostradamus?

  6. Cornick said

    Excellent Monk puzzle again. SW corner was fine, I ended up pausing the longest in the NE, especially the intersection of MAIDEN and TENNER, then a distant memory of clothes horses from my infancy waved its paw. Now if only I’d spotted those symmetries…

Comments are closed.

