i Cryptic Crossword 1853 Nitsy

January 16, 2017

Nothing too difficult today, just an enjoyable, pretty uncontroversial start to the week. I wonder if I was the only person to assume an out of date reference at 24ac before spotting the ‘was’?

COD? 15ac, which I’m sure is an old one, but I still enjoyed it – ‘Take issue (6)’.

A very detailed blog from 2012 for our IoS reprint can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/19/independent-on-sunday-1173-nitsy/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1853 Nitsy”

  1. dtw42 said

    This one looked at first glance in the morning like it was going to be a toughie. Thankfully it proved more accessible once I actually gave it some attention.
    My only gripe was with 20ac, where Nitsy could surely have found a different synonym for “fellow” to put in the clue, that wasn’t ¾ the same as the answer word…

  2. Cornick said

    Yes, very enjoyable.
    My only stumbling block was the second word of 5d, which I just couldn’t see so did a mini-cheat by looking under ‘Print’ in the dictionary, whereupon I learnt that the answer is something etched onto a board. Very educational this crosswording malarkey.

  3. AndyT said

    Hmm … I don’t believe that 24ac is a term used in this country, is it? Otherwise all okay, but I wasn’t really bowled over by this puzzle. Agreed on the COD.

  4. sprouthater said

    Jack Straw was Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs (Foreign Secretary). Didn’t like 1a the two definitions of Do seemed a bit dubious to me, the rest was fairly entertaining.

  5. allan_c said

    No real gripe about 24a. The preferred term for the British individual is ‘Foreign Secretary’ but that person may be included in the generic term ‘foreign minister’ for example in news items such as “The foreign ministers of six European countries are meeting in…..”

Comments are closed.

