i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1846 by Phi

January 14, 2017

Saturday 7th January 2017

You may well have noticed Flanders and Swann lurking in the grid last Saturday – who wrote and performed a number of comic songs in the 50s and early 60s, of course.

‘Slow Train’, ‘Sounding Brass’ and ‘Misalliance’ featured as well as the only two I knew, ‘Mud’ (Mud, mud, glorious mud) and ‘Gnu’. They were slightly before my time, alas, and it seems hard to believe their old-style entertainment overlapped with the Beatles, but there you have it.

So not quite enough for me to spot the theme, alas, but after his impressive contribution yesterday, hopes are high that dtw42 might have!

For COD I’ll plump for the following:

12a Fresh cycle race in sports pages and much else (9)

And the full answers from 2012 can be found at the Fifteensquared blog site here.

And finally a shameless plug for my second puzzle for the Independent, which is due to appear on their website this coming Thursday, I’m told.

6 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1846 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Congrats on the new Indy puzzle, Cornick. 🙂

    Despite thinking that the Proust clue was rather rum, and muttering “I’m a gnu … a gnother gnu” to myself when that went in, I failed to spot the theme too. Should have got that at the drop of a hat. Never mind, it was as enjoyable as ever. My favourite, predictably, was 17ac.

  2. dtw42 said

    No, sorry, I missed it too, lol

  3. Rick King said

    Good theme which I wish I had spotted, should have done really as F & S were a great when I was growing up – sixties if you were wondering. To be honest I found the actual puzzle a bit of a grind, doubtless that says more about me than the cluing…
    Very well done on your upcoming Indy appearance Cornick, I’m normally a weekend solver but I will try and catch this.

  4. jonofwales said

    Nope, completely missed the theme as well. 🙂 I seem to remember finding this reasonably challenging, but not impossibly so…

    Congratulations on the upcoming Indy appearance, looking forward to it!

  5. snape said

    Eimi tweeted that you had another puzzle soon, looking forward to it. Is your e-mail address working OK? I have sent you a couple of messages, but they get bounced – but not for 2 or 3 weeks, which is strange.

Comments are closed.

