I Cryptic Crossword 1851 Math

January 13, 2017

I can only recall seeing one other puzzle from Math in The i and my memory of him from The Independent is that he was among the more difficult of setters this however is a reprint from the IOS and some discussion has occurred back in 2012 as to the level of difficulty found in the Sunday puzzles since the (I presume) departure of Quixote. This for the most part proved pleasingly accessible with only the last five or six causing me a problem . This was largely self inflicted as I had convinced myself that 18d was Cracking and 24d was Crown. It was only when I dragged 19a from the memory, thanks largely to the television sitcom Upstart Crow that I got to the finish. The only other really tricky one for me was 29a and this only went in once all the checking letters were in place, the cryptic is I think quite obscure and I’m not sure why its succulent but I’m sure it is.

Lots of good clues, I liked the dd’s at 15 and 18d  but for

COD 20d  European, say, chewed a piece of cake. (4)

Back to the Fifteensquared blog from  July 2012 when it was almost certainly a lot warmer.

11 Responses to “I Cryptic Crossword 1851 Math”

  1. AndyT said

    I made a meal of the SW corner, but otherwise found it enjoyable and breezy, as Jon would say. It took ages for the penny to drop re 23 – the brain must be misfiring today. 19 pleased me a great deal and would be my choice for COD.

    29 is a succulent, by the way.

  2. jonofwales said

    A remarkably similar solve to yours, including the same self induced stumbling blocks. Very accessible for Math, and thoroughly enjoyable.

  3. Cornick said

    Very gentle for the most part, although my hiccup was a fixation on Mars being the first four letters of Marseillaise, which is a march of sorts. Bunged it in anyhow then came here for confirmation of my dimness.
    I can confirm that 29a is indeed succulent – the answer that is (as well as the wordplay, arf).

  4. dtw42 said

    Um … for once am I the only person to spot a theme? 😀
    (There seems to have been no mention of it over on fifteensquared.)
    There were a number of literary private detectives in the across answers.
    My solve was similar to AndyT’s – mostly accessible and smooth going, then somewhat harder in the SW corner – with 23ac as my LOI.

    • jonofwales said

      Indeed there are, well spotted!

    • HK said

      …and not just the acrosses. I see Mike HAMMER, PRECIOUS Ramotswe, Thomas MAGNUM, SPENSER (For Hire), Philip MARLOWE, John SHAFT, Dirk GENTLY, EASY Rawlins, Father BROWN, Sam SPADE and possibly Veronica MARS and Adrian MONK(s). Any more?

    • jonofwales said

      Oh, and at least one in the downs. (Sam) SPADE.

    • AndyT said

      Bravo dtw42! 🙂

      • dtw42 said

        Ah yes – Spade, and Chesterton’s Father Brown? I’m wondering about Mars (Veronica, perhaps?)
        Right – when’s National Novel Writing Month? I can feel a hard-boiled gumshoe forming in my leetle grey cells even now, Steve Smashing, of Smashing and Easy Investigations …

      • dtw42 said

        oops – must have missed HK’s post. I wondered about Monk but dismissed him because of the rogue S. Good call on Precious (hadn’t twigged to trying first names too!). Hadn’t heard of Easy Rawlins.

  5. Exit said

    Super clue for ALOE VERA. Wish I’d thought of that for my puzzle at the York S&B last October. But then I suppose I would have been charged with plagiarism.

Comments are closed.

