i Cryptic Crossword 1849 Glow-Worm

January 11, 2017

An IoS reprint today instead of our customary offering from Dac, but I didn’t feel hard done by, as this was an enjoyable, fairly straightforward puzzle. The NE corner held out for a while at the end, giving a finish time just a little under par for the i. In other words just the time I’d hope to spend mid-week. The NKVD were new to me, and I imagine some solvers might not have heard of 5d, and maybe 24 and 25 across, but all were very clearly clued.

COD? 17d – ‘Agitated, like Eve somewhere in the Himalayas? (8)’.

To August 2012, when I bet we weren’t looking forward to the first snowfall of the year:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/05/independent-on-sunday-1171-by-glow-worm/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1849 Glow-Worm”

  1. dtw42 said

    That was my swiftest solve of the week so far. As you say, all fairly straightforward. I’d not heard of the NKVD either but the anagram was an easy one.

  2. Cornick said

    All very satisfying. I’m still struggling for a clear idea as to Glow-worm’s style, but if they keep coming like this I’ll be perfectly happy.

    Apart from NKVD (I must apologise to the government of North Korea for thinking they could possibly have a secret police force – as if), PIA was also new knowledge gained.

  3. AndyT said

    Thoroughly enjoyed this one, but like Cornick I haven’t really put my finger on Glow-worm’s style either. Certainly not as familiar as Dac’s, anyway, and it took me a little longer than usual for a Wednesday.

    • Jimbo said

      Thumbs up here too. Most enjoyable. But one minor nit for me is how 22 works. I would expect the inserted T (for time) to go either inside or just after PE, and not be inserted in the SiLENT bit. Now I think about it, I vaguely recall this is something The Times has as a rule/house style, but not other papers?

      • jonofwales said

        I’m not sure. I remember seeing the TImes house rules somewhere, but for the life of me can’t remember where now.

Comments are closed.

