i Cryptic Crossword 1848 Jambazi

January 10, 2017

To the best of my knowledge Jambazi hasn’t appeared in the i before. Doubtless Jon will know. Guardian solvers may may have encountered him as Tramp – anyway, unfamiliar setters are always welcome. I am a little conflicted about this reprinted Saturday prize puzzle from September 2012, which displays a good deal of cleverness and contains a few mini themes hidden in the clues as well as the solutions. It was definitely entertaining, but there may well be grumbles, methinks.

Debatable definitions and a couple of obscurities aside, some people may dislike the sporting and pop cultural references concentrated in the NW corner. Ho hum … for instance 1ac meant precisely nothing to me at first, but the cryptic component works out just fine and I’ve learned something today (albeit useless). By and large the clue writing is impressive, although the number of write-ins was surprisingly high. Special mentions for 9 and 20; 15, 16 and 22 also went down well. COD is an easy choice this time:

13d: “Document from 12 15 ‘given space – swing cat (anagram)’ (5,5)”

The relevant Fifteensquared blog entry is well worth a visit for mc_rapper67’s excellent commentary, and because Jambazi/Tramp gives a detailed explanation of what was on his mind. It’s highly illuminating … I just hope he didn’t expect me to know anything about all that beforehand.

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1848 Jambazi”

  1. Cornick said

    Yes, I did this assuming it was a new setter, and so I rather had my schoolteacher’s mortar board on. I needn’t have bothered though, because a) it was very good and b) it was, as you say by the Graun’s very own Tramp.
    Definitely his first outing in the i, but Fifteensquared tells us it was his second puzzle for the Independent.
    Wholehearted agreement on CoD.

  2. jonofwales said

    This was surprisingly straightforward for a Saturday reprint, though the theme went totally over my head (despite spotting one or two 4/2 references). Never mind, it was an enjoyable diversion nevertheless. My Guardian solves are few and far between, so this very definitely a debut for me. 21ac appealed to my puerile sense of humour.

  3. sprouthater said

    I was a bit negative towards this after the first read through.Tennis and Alan Partridge, neither to my liking, but after completing it I realised that it was really very good and I had thoroughly enjoyed it.

Comments are closed.

