i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1840 by Eimi

January 7, 2017

Saturday 31st December 2016

Eimi, in case you didn’t know, is the crossword editor for both the i and the Independent and I’m guessing that as significant dates approach he half expects one of his setters to come up with a themed puzzle.  If they don’t he’ll gamely do one himself. Indeed this particular New Year’s Eve he ended up supplying both the i and the Independent on line. Kudos.

Of course the one in the i one was recycled – and we slipped momentarily back into 2011- but no matter, all seemed perfectly topical as far as I could tell and an enjoyable solve it was too.

Given the theme I should have guessed that 23a would be BIG BEN rather than my first punt THE EYE, but in truth it was only a light-ish theme, though none the worse for that.

For Clue of the Day, I think I’ll agree with the original blogger at Fifteensquared here and go with 18d:

I am British – I live for drink (6)

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1840 by Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    My copy has been recycled, but I remember finding this entertaining enough, but solved rather too quickly. For some reason The Eye crossed my mind too – I’ve always considered it a ridiculous name for something which is so clearly an O.

    • Cornick said

      The clue was ‘London landmark most people have not seen’ which I reasoned most people see WITH, rather than see, unless they’re an optician. Yup, Eimi’s was better.

  2. jonofwales said

    I invariably enjoy Eimi’s puzzles, so was pleased to see he’d done a new year special. On the easy side, but that’s exactly what I was looking for before the festivities began.

  3. sprouthater said

    I thought the landmark was pretty obvious bearing in mind the theme and Big Ben refers to the bell which most of us haven’t seen.

Comments are closed.

