i Cryptic Crossword 1845 Nestor

January 6, 2017

I thought this was fairly tough with the grid looking pretty bare after the first pass. Another read through and things looked a bit better until only 17d was left and this was only solved after I checked the spelling of 15a and found it didn’t end in E. 15a,8d and 13d were all, for me, very hard to parse. I am a little disgruntled with 13d as I didn’t watch the TV programme in question and  think it a bit presumptuous of the setter to assume that I had. Apart from those three and Era = Date in 22a which I thought a bit iffy the rest proved entertaining . I liked 9a, which at the time must have been very topical, 11a ,26a and 19d are also worth a mention but

COD 2d  Swine and Circe’s end added to Homer, possibly   (6)

This was a Saturday puzzle from August 2012 and all the solutions and parsing can be found here  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/25/independent-8064-sat-18-august-2012-nestor/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1845 Nestor”

  1. Cornick said

    Excellent and inventive, I thought – although I too didn’t care much for the assumption that I knew where Father Ted was set. Funnily enough I only watched it for the first time over Christmas, but don’t recall any mention of Craggy Island.
    8d was a wowzer of a piece of parsing – I wonder if anyone worked it out other than with hindsight?

  2. jonofwales said

    On the other hand, this was my fastest solve since Monday, though with a few not fully parsed. Very good it was too. Perhaps I’ve finally woken up this week, or, at last, got to grips with Nestor. This appears to be another week with two Saturdays in it. 😉

  3. dtw42 said

    I got stuck at the end with 8dn and 12ac (a few others put in without being fully parsed … or understood). Unlike you, Sprouthater, I filled 17dn in about halfway through and circled it as very clever (the equivalent of some people’s ticks of approval!)…

    I was familiar with the TV show in question at 13dn, so understood what was going on there … still grumbled a little though, since he’s not a “Craggy priest” but a “Craggy Island priest” … subtly different.

  4. AndyT said

    Contrary to what I said yesterday, this turns out to be my favourite puzzle of the week. Top drawer stuff throughout, if a little heavy on the crosswordese, and since that TV show is a cultural landmark in my opinion I have no complaints at all. 8d is one of the nattiest pieces of work I’ve seen in a fair while, and yes – parsing followed solution.

Comments are closed.

