i Cryptic Crossword 1844 Klingsor

January 5, 2017

A reasonably challenging offering from Klingsor, but accessible with lots to enjoy. I had lots of question marks at the end, and was unsure of one or two, but got there in a time about par for the i. 11ac I thought was a good example of an obscure answer clearly clued. Lots of ticks by the clues too, with COD going to 20d – ‘A sin, grasping at riches, principally? (7)’.

We’re still in the summer of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/08/30/independent-8074klingsor/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1844 Klingsor”

  1. AndyT said

    I thoroughly enjoyed this absorbing puzzle, which will probably turn out to my favourite this week. Just right in terms of difficulty, and peppered with clever little touches. As you say, Jon, 11ac was impeccably played. Funny – you don’t usually hear much about Oedipus’ dad, do you?

  2. dtw42 said

    Hm, once again I sailed through most of it and then fell over about five hurdles from the end. Finished up putting in a random guess (wrong, as it turned out) for 21dn, and wrongly guessing ‘chop shop’ for 4dn. My bad, as the youth are apparently wont to say. Klingsor could surely have phrased the clue for 26ac without using “worth”, which was part of the answer?
    Clue for 6dn was indeed, er, atrocious, IMO.

  3. sprouthater said

    Really rather good I thought. Quite a few question marks but mostly all resolved, didn’t know Agape was a feast and 11a was also unknown but as you say very well clued. I do like a good puzzle that doesn’t resort to obscure play titles or minor hit records from the 70’s.

  4. Cornick said

    Klingsor’s clues remind me of those wooden block puzzles that used to float around in Christmases of old. Impossible at first, then push in the right place and it’s suddenly both simple and elegant.

    Loads to admire here, although a girl’s name to clue an obscure meaning of calico was never going to rock my boat and like dtw42 I plumped for chop shop, though I did consider cookshop along the way. However, I did like 6d very much.

Comments are closed.

