i Cryptic Crossword 1842 Tyrus

January 3, 2017

My newsagent Mr Pure Evil treated me to one of his grins this morning, which should have tipped me off that there was some devilry afoot. Today’s crossword was either diabolically clever, or simply diabolical depending on your point of view. If you ask me the mental contortions Tyrus asked of us are a bit much during the week, even if it is a Tuesday.  Small surprise, then, that it’s a Saturday prize reprint.

1 8 is the title of the theme music to a well known TV programme, closely associated with a 15ac 16 and the catchphrase 21ac 25. That helped, a little bit. 7 appears to refer to another programme which I’ve never seen, so that didn’t. To be fair, the only real obscurity is 24d (tut, tut), but 12 also annoyed me considerably. Amongst the many tortuous clues 6, 22 and 18 struck me as particularly noteworthy, but my COD is 9ac:

” ‘As to go on about one not being ‘ere (8)”

For explanations, please see the Fifteensquared blog post from August 2012.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1842 Tyrus”

  1. jonofwales said

    Far too much for a weekday in my opinion. My brain hurts now.

  2. Cornick said

    Thanks for the link to Fifteensquared, AndyT – I would never have parsed either 1a or 20a. Indeed quite a lot was bunged in on a wing and a prayer.
    Tough but, I suppose, very clever.

  3. Raskolnikov said

    Too tough for my little grey cells today I’m afraid.
    1-0 to Tyrus today!!

  4. sprouthater said

    Just awful. Too clever to be enjoyable.

  5. dtw42 said

    Didn’t have much time to tackle this one yesterday, and when I did (at about 10pm), I managed to get all but about the last 8 without too much trouble (spotted the theme – thankfully I was familiar with the name of the title tune). Thoroughly flummoxed by the last few though. Came back to it this evening and with my girlfriend’s help the two of us managed to finish – but with the same grumbles about certain clues as everybody else:
    18ac too convoluted; 20ac put in on the basis of the book without getting the wordplay; disapprove of 12ac, etc.
    Hey ho.

Comments are closed.

