i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1834 by Phi

December 31, 2016

Saturday 24th December 2016

A pleasing nativity scene filled the grid on Christmas Eve, complete with Mary, Joseph, Manger, Kings, Shepherds, Cattle, Sheep, Starfish and Elf. Those last two made me think of the nativity play scene in ‘Love Actually’  – compulsory Christmas viewing in the Cornick household.

So all nicely topical of course with only EP for electroplated in 7d, Mano a mano at 9a, and the eminently solvable Vlachs at 22d being new to me. Another thumbs up for Phi then.

Several ticks in the margin, but my COD goes to 3d. Here it is again:

Insolence between two Greek characters provokes classical battle (8)

And the full Christmas 2011 blog is here.

Happy New Year to all bloggers, commenters – whether regular or occasional – and lurkers.

Here’s to another year of engrossing, frustrating brilliant and hopefully successful puzzle solving  in 2017.

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1834 by Phi”

  1. Rick King said

    Mostly enjoyable, does anyone else get those moments where after a struggle the clue goes down…once the answer is in it is impossible to see how it was not just a write in?

    Seemed to apply to most of the Nativity scene related clues – I wish I knew why – cattle for instance eluded me for longer than I would want to admit to!

    Anyway a good Xmas puzzle even if basilica defeated me, happy new year all.

    • Cornick said

      At the Big Dave website the commenters are partial to writing ‘D’oh!’ in relation to certain clues – which equates, I imagine, to the same phenomenon you eloquently express, Rick.
      Familiar enough to me, and I suspect it to be an integral part of life for solvers one and all. 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    Generally enjoyable. Both 3 and 22d were unknowns to me but were well clued. I had a very senior moment trying to work out what Marx had to do with Nativity.
    Happy New Year to all:-)

  3. AndyT said

    All good stuff … I particularly approved of 26ac and 18d, as well as the capital COD. “EP” is the first part of EPNS, as seen stamped into old cutlery (the NS being nickel silver).

    A very happy new year to one and all.

  4. jonofwales said

    An enjoyable, festive solve. 🙂 Happy New Year one and all!

Comments are closed.

