i Cryptic Crossword 1839 Phi

December 30, 2016

Phi on Friday, how strange. I don’t mean the puzzle, that’s not strange, its the usual well crafted affair that we expect from this setter with only one unknown but easily solvable from the cryptic part of the clue at 21d. Of the few that had question marks only 19d gives me any cause for concern with cream = elect, I have no doubt that in a dictionary or thesaurus somewhere it can be verified but it seems a bit vague to me. Like others who commented on Fifteensquared my LOI was 25a, I’m not familiar with this sort of organ. Of the rest lots of ticks 6a being quite appropriate for today as we have a lot of damp weather but :-

COD 22d       Good salesman heading off transfixed onlooker. (6)

Whilst there is no theme Phi has hidden body parts in the grid the most obvious to me is in row 10. Bertandjoyce claim to have found 7 but Phi says only 5 !

 

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1839 Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    ST for silence I thought was a bit mean, with a bit of an obscure answer, but the rest was all fair and above board and enjoyable. I’m guessing either a New Year’s special tomorrow, or Dac.

  2. AndyT said

    I wasn’t terribly happy with 13d … thought it could do with a definition of some sort even though the answer was clear enough. Corps (de ballet) doesn’t cut the mustard for me, really. Otherwise, same old high-quality Phi. Hoping for a special tomorrow.

  3. Cornick said

    I actually wrote in ‘Knee-shops’ before going to the dictionary. Easily amended though. Good Phi-day fare generally though.

Comments are closed.

