i Cryptic Crossword 1838 Rorschach

December 29, 2016

Quite a challenging debut from Rorschach that left me scratching my head more than once. The key for me proved to be getting 12ac, and then delving about in the depths of my memory for films that might fit the long anagram. I’m not sure I would have got the name of the playwright otherwise, the tennis player having long faded into obscurity as far as I’m concerned. 😉 Lots of question marks at the end, but looking at the original blog everything seems to be explained there.

COD? Well, it’s the season for bad cracker jokes, so I’ll go with 17d – ‘Where Father Christmas goes on holiday, reportedly? (5,4)’.

To the unseasonably warm days of the summer of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/07/05/independent-8026rorschach/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1838 Rorschach”

  1. sprouthater said

    Best puzzle of the week I think. A few question marks but a lot of ticks. 1a was new to me and I needed Wikipedia for 4d and 1d but no complaints.

  2. AndyT said

    I enjoyed it a lot, and despite being dismal when it comes to American drama managed to call the relevant bits to mind without too much trouble. It’s been a good week thus far, and I’m inclined to agree with Sprouthater that this is the most entertaining puzzle to date.

Comments are closed.

